The Criterion

My name is Camila Ramos, and I’m 16. I was born in Brazil, on October 25th, 1999. I used to live in a big house in my country with my parents. Since I was 7 years old, I used to go to Colégio Batista Mineiro, a particular school in my city. I always liked to study and go to school, I like to work hard because I always think about the end, that it will be worth it. In 2011 our immigration process started, and a chance of leaving legally in the USA came for me and my family. After one year, I was 12, and also coming here for the first time to get my green card with my family. We stayed here for three weeks; we went to Washington, New York, South Carolina, Connecticut…

and even though I didn’t speak any English at all, I had a lot of fun. When I came back to Brazil, I started studying English, in 2013. I was really nervous because I was going to move to another country, everything was going to be different! But, my dad was studying law in Brazil, and he really wanted to finish his course, so we waited for 2 years. This was good because since 2013 I had five English classes a week; I studied more English than Portuguese.

When my dad graduated, we moved. I got here with my family on march 28th.

I’m leaving in Bridgeport, CT, and I study at Central High School. Besides of everything that people say about Central, I still believe in the sentence “the student is the school”. And actually, that’s totally true. Teachers are ready to help the student who wants and look for help. I’m a junior, and I really want to go to a good college, with good grades, a good GPA, a good SAT score (even though for me is harder because english is not my first language, Portuguese is), and have a good recommendation letter. Also, I need to have clubs in my transcript and volunteer jobs. It’s not easy to get into a good college, but I want and will do my best to get into it. I want to be a doctor, a pediatrician. I love children and I really want to work with them, and with teenagers also. So, that’s my dream, to become a good pediatrician. My favorites subjects are biology, chemistry, and, incredibly, I like math.  Now, about the college that I want to apply to, I still don’t know yet. But I’m already looking for good colleges.

I consider myself a good student, and a funny person. I love to make new friends!  It’s been difficult for me to be without my Brazilian friends, but I also have a lot of friends here; and the internet is helping me to contact them.

I really try to focus on school during the week, but my weekend is for my church, family, friends, boyfriend and myself. I love to go to the movies, to the mall, my friend’s house, beaches, parks, etc. I love to be outside, and I don’t like to be lonely too much; because I love to talk.

So, that’s Camila, that’s me.

Camila Ramos '18, Staff Writer

Nov 07, 2017
The Process of Book Buying (Story)
The student news site of Bridgeport Central High School